by Zain Shahid

Vela - Sheer Class!

Vela - Sheer Class!

Carlos Vela is hopeful he can have more first team opportunities in the coming months. The young Mexican said that his loan spells in La Liga did a lot good to him and have made him a much better player. Credit to Wenger for that. The Arsenal manager has now complimented the youngster’s abilities which has made him full of confidence. He said:

“Of course it’s very important that the manager says these things – it gives you confidence. But I’m still only 19, so I have to keep taking things on board. Hopefully, if I carry on learning, I’ll make it. The Premier League is teaching me a lot. Certainly, in my opinion, it is the best league in the world and definitely the quickest. So to push on it’s simple – I just need to keep working, working, working until the manager decides that I merit a starting place.”

I certainly hope Vela gets to play more often because in my view he has immense talent and I would like to see him start a few Premier League matches too. Hope the guy turns out to be an Henry!

van Persie - Hopeful the drought will end this season...

van Persie - Hopeful the drought will end this season...

Robin van Persie is also full of confidence after his brilliant performance as captain and believes Arsenal’s best chance of any silverware this season is the FA Cup. The Dutch forward is determined to end the trophy drought and has high hopes from the FA Cup. Arsenal’s star striker grabbed a brace against Plymouth on Sunday to spur the Gunners into the 4th round where they have been drawn to face Ramsey’s former club Cardiff away from home. van Persie said:

I didn’t imagine it would take so long to win another trophy. When I arrived at Arsenal they were winning trophies for fun. They were champions when I arrived and in my first season I won the FA Cup. I was expecting that to carry on but it hasn’t really happened like that. But it’s not a reason for me to give up, it’s a bigger challenge to do it this time. We need to win a trophy as soon as possible. We’ve been very unlucky with injuries so we want to do something for the club and the fans.

I hope his dream of winning at the Wembley in May comes true. He will, I expect, be the captain this season in the FA Cup so with his determination and commitment I can see Arsenal have quite a chance as long as his teammates support him really well.

