So it seems Fabregas will be staying after all. It has been one of the most pathetic, seemingly never-ending transfer sagas ever. The tapping of our captain by Barcelona has been unethical and surely Arsenal should have had a word with FIFA or UEFA about it by now. Anyway, Barca president Sandra Rosell has finally given up, admitting they will not be able to pay the price Arsenal have placed on their captain; something he should have done long ago since Arsenal had the same stance on this saga from the start.

Fabregas though has reiterated his wish to return to his boyhood club yet again. Now I don’t know about all of you, but I surely have been bitterly disappointed with his attitude this summer. He is the captain of Arsenal for God’s sake. The awkward silences and comments such as those yesterday:

“I make no apologies for the comments I have made in the past. I have expressed my interest in returning and I stand by that, as that is my personal wish.”

It’ll be interesting to see what sort of reception he gets from the Arsenal faithful when he returns. His heart does not seem to be with Arsenal anymore and to have a captain like that doesn’t seem like the best idea. Make him stay to teach Barca a lesson ‘you don’t always get what you want,’ but I would rather have a captain who loves playing for Arsenal only. Vermaelen and van Persie would be good options. But I’m pretty sure Wenger will not make the move. He knows just how important Fabregas is to this club and stripping him of the captaincy now will only make him leave next summer for sure. But one has to say he will most probably be off next season anyway so strip him or not, makes no difference.

What do you think? Have you been disappointed by his behavior as well? Should some bold actions be taken or just let it be?

