Adebayor - His finishing will be missed

Adebayor - His finishing will be missed

Every summer the prime target for Arsene Wenger is to keep his players rather than buy more. Though he hasn’t been able to keep all players successfully in recent years. Most recently Hleb, Flamini and Gilberto were on the leaving list.

This year Emmanuel Adebayor looks most likely to be departing. The Togolese forward has expressed discontent over the way fans have been treating him lately, though it has to be mentioned here that only a particular negative group of the fans want him out, not all.

He has been strongly linked with Arsenal’s title rivals Chelsea. Wenger has also not ruled out one of his players leaving for a rival club.

“I do not know if the future of Emmanuel is with Arsenal,” he told Calcio Mercato. “The only certainty is that at the end of the season I will meet with Wenger to assess the situation.”

It would be sad to see him leaving but on the positive side, that will increase Wenger’s transfer kitty by around 20m and it will allow Arshavin to play in his favoured position up front.

Bischoff - Might have to move on for more first team action

Bischoff - Might have to move on for more first team action

The other Gunner who could be on his way out is the talented youngster Amaury Bischoff. First team opportunities have limited for the Potrugese midfielder and that has left him unsatisfied.

“I have a meeting this weekend with Arsène Wenger and Arsenal’s management to discuss my future. What is certain is that I can do whatever I want because I am free in a few days. I will consider all proposals that are available to me.

“If they want to keep me, why not. But under certain conditions. What I want is to play every Saturday for my club. We’ll see what happens the next few weeks. But if i have to leave, it will not be a problem.

“I have contacts everywhere. England, Germany, Portugal, Spain and even France. I go where I will play as much as possible. Because I know I can become a Portugal international. And for that, the coach Carlos Queiroz, who believes in me and told me himself, is that I need to play regular at club level. So I will probably do that.”

So it seems quite likely he will be leaving as I really don’t see Wenger preferring him over the likes of Song, Diaby and Denilson. I liked the lad from the little I saw of him and wanted him tried in the first team more often. He seemed quite talented. But maybe his future lies elsewhere. Lets see.

