Adebayor wins another personal accolade

Adebayor wins another personal accolade

Arsenal forward Emmanuel Adebayor has been named Africa’s best player for 2008 by The Confederation of African Football. The Togolese player beat off competition from Mohamed Aboutrika of Egypt and Ghana’s Michael Essien. Adebayor had the best season of his life so far (and probably the best he will ever have) last year and ended up Barclays Premier League’s second top scorer and scored an overall 30 goals in the season. The forward has been rewarded a trophy and a cash prize of $20,000 at the ceremony in Nigeria. FIFA President Sepp Blatter was also present at the occasion. It was an emotional moment for the Arsenal star who , obviously delighted with the achievement, said:

“This is a special night for me. I dedicate this award to my mum, without her, I would have been nothing. My father is no more but wherever he is, he will be proud of me.”

Adebayor had also earlier won the BBC African Player of the year award.

Ironically I had written a critical article of him just yesterday and within less than 24 hours he wins the award! I have written one about Eboue today so lets hope he wins something tomorrow (*laughs*)! In his dreams!

Time for Bendtner to get some first team action

Time for Bendtner to get some first team action

But as Adebayor is injured at the moment, its time for Bendtner to make a mark. And he starts off in typical style with some arrogant comments.

“I still feel that when I play my best, I should start, regardless of who is fit or who is injured. I have the same attitude every time, and each game I try to prove that I should start.”

Haha so he thinks he deserves to play in the first team of Arsenal! Thats hilarious! The Dane though happy as now he will get more chances in the first team with Adebayor injured, concedes that Arsenal need Adebayor back soon:

“Of course, chances for me have improved with someone else out injured, but I still hope Adebayor will be back soon, as we need him in the team.”

He may be as usual very overconfident but I hope he does well in the absence of Adebayor. We all know Wenger too well so we know Vela or Eduardo wont be given the chance in Adebayor’s absence, only Bendtner will be tried so I hope he plays exceptionally well and it turns out be an Almunia story like Lehmann got injured, Almunia came in and impressed and Lehmann never came back!

